Fête de la Chanson 4: Preliminary Info and Dates

Hi all! As we transition into our new format and move, for the first time, to Europe, I wanted to keep you up to date on the schedule for Fête de la Chanson 4.

So right now, the schedule looks something like this.

  • 8 November at 19:00 CET: The reservation period opens. I’ll talk about how you reserve later in this post.
  • 8 November – 15 November: Sign-up for existing, returning, and new players
  • 15 November – 29 November: Song submission period
  • 29 – November – 6 December: Voting period
  • 6/7 December: Results

As you can see, there’s a bit more time given to each edition. This is so that it doesn’t feel so rushed and so that I have more time to start making recap videos for this contest! Now, about country reservation:

  • You CANNOT reserve in the comments section of the article.
  • You CANNOT reserve before the reservation period opens.
  • You MUST reserve through some sort of private message. This can be e-mail, a Twitter DM, a Facebook message, or anything like that. Just not a public reservation.
  • The country you reserve MUST follow the new FdlC rules (see below).
  • The country you reserve CANNOT be an autonomous region, i.e. the Faroe Islands, Åland Islands, Scotland, Kosovo, etc.

On the topic of countries, how should microstates be handled? I know that in ETSC, only Monaco and San Marino were admitted with songs by two of their Eurovision representatives. However, I think it could be interesting to offer up these countries as venues for alternative sides of larger country’s music scenes, such as Italy, France, Spain and Belgium. Therefore, they’d have special rules limiting the kind of song and artist they could choose. However, I want to open this topic up to discussion.

I wanted to give you this info early so it wouldn’t feel like overload later. I can’t wait to start a new period of Fête de la Chanson!

EDIT: Please read this update.

https://fetedelachanson.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/fete-de-la-chanson-4-important-update/

22 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 4: Preliminary Info and Dates

  1. Couple of days before I knew which song to pick! Today I’ve got doubts! Can’t choose between Armenia and Georgia LOL! Hope a lot of guys from ETSC will join this time!

    Like

  2. If I get the country I want. I’m going to hopefully hold a Melodifestivalen style National final but with 12 songs instead of 32 where you guys as individual international juries will collectively have 50% of the say.

    The 12 songs chosen will obviously have some of my taste thrown in, but I would also cater to a few different genres as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hm it makes sense i thought it was a different week for country reservation and different for signing up.

      Like

    • Thats only a week, same time as ETSC iirc, and I think any less isnt much time at all.
      Also there the 2 weeks after that to pick songs I think so we can have national finals.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I have just chosen a song /if I’ll be able to claim the country/! Very complicated one! The singer is one of the best/respected vocalists of Armenian music industry who failed to sing it live as cried in the middle! Later she never sang it during her concerts. Just finished the translation!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Meh!! I Have just read that we have age restriction :(( My song is automatically banned as it was released in 2003😦 But here it is and lyrics if you wonder:

        On the wings of illusion

        Forgive me Mom…
        Because your child /me/ is nobody – just a passant on the strange (foreign) roads..
        Where everything is unknown and everybody is a stranger
        Please forgive and save (help) me Mom ..
        Just don’t let the memory, the scream and the whisper of my soul
        To become my own Carnifex (executor).
        What can I do Mother?
        To make the troubles and problems of my poor destiny lose my addresses and forget me…
        What can i do Mom?
        (Refrain)
        Ohh… I wish God would give me wings and I’d become a bird
        I’d leave all these strange-useless (foreign) roads and return back home…
        I’ wish I could silently lean on your shoulder in the backyard of our house – taking you in my arms…
        And I wish I could cry on your lap and become a child just one more /last/ time,
        Ohh… I wish only…I wish only I could make it in time .. Oh I wish it wasn’t too late.
        I remember what you used to say,
        That the disasters of our life strengthen and purify us,
        I already know it, mother
        That it is impossible to make the time stop or back.
        That it is impossible to change anything in the ritual of life where everything is fixed
        I already know it mother…
        Just forgive me mother,
        Because my past seemed to be an introduction (intrto music) of something great,
        And my present isn’t but its poor illusion.
        Please bless me,
        Please help me Mom
        (Refrain)
        Ohh… I wish God would give me wings and I’d become a bird
        I’d leave all these strange (foreign) roads and return back home…
        I’ wish I could silently lean on your shoulder in the backyard of our home – taking you in my arms…
        And I wish I could cry on your lap and become a child just one more /last/ time,
        I wish only…I wish only I could make it in time .. Oh.. I wish it wasn’t too late.

        Like

      • The music does not give the vibes I would have expected but the lyrics are really sad and deep. Overall it is an above average song.

        Like

Leave a Reply

