Fête de la Chanson 4: Confirmation Day

Hey all! Today’s the day! We’re finally going to reserve countries as we move into a new period of FdlC history. This article will be updated throughout the week to show who has which country.

Here’s a few reminders for confirming:

  • The window for confirming opens sharply at 1900 CET. Any message I receive before that trying to reserve a country will not be accepted.
  • You have to send your first three choices for countries.
  • Do NOT try to confirm in the comments.
  • Reserve by sending me an email at fetedelachanson@gmx.com or a private message wherever you normally contact me.

I’m so excited to do this guys and I hope you’ll enjoy it!

Because I’m scatterbrained, I COMPLETELY forgot that Marc, the winner, got to pick his country first. So, since literally everyone who messaged me except Tecku wanted the UK as their first choice, I moved to your second choices instead. I’m so sorry about forgetting that, but it’s all good.

CONFIRMED COUNTRIES:

  • GB United Kingdom (Marc)
  • AT Austria (Nick)
  • SE Sweden (Max)
  •  France (Luke)
  • NO Norway (Tecku)
  • DE Germany (Patrick)
  • CY Cyprus (Dino)
  • RU Russia (Jon)
  • GR Greece (Tim)
  • AM Armenia (Avat)
  • DK Denmark (Donnie)
  • ES Spain (Artur)
  • IS Iceland (Rob)
  • LT Lithuania (Shevek)
  • SI Slovenia (Togravus)
  • BE Belgium (Dimitris)
  • IE Ireland (Eulenspiegel)
  • TR Turkey (Oxi)
  • RS Serbia (Xello)
  • EE Estonia (Alex)
  • FI Finland (Guitar)
  • MT Malta (Jericho)
  • IL Israel (Mermaid)

EDIT 10/11/14: I’m going to continue to update this throughout the day, but I have to work around classwork, so be patient. Since there’s so much confusion/dislike of the “keep your country ad nauseum” rule, I’m changing it. You have to have your country for at least one edition, but you can keep it if you’d like. However, there is now a five edition maximum that you can have a country. After that, you have to give it up. Winners will get first dibs on their country or an unoccupied one, but if they want one that is already occupied, they will have to hash that out with the current owner of that country. Better?

This is the last time I’m changing this or talking about this. When I started this contest, I promised Morgan that it wouldn’t turn into an ETSC clone. But, since that’s what I thought a lot of you, including myself wanted, I tried to get close to that. So, that’s why I wanted us to keep our countries, since it would be something different and create a new experience. But no, you want to change countries. That’s fine, but I don’t want it to stay the same, so that’s why I created the maximum limit. Now apparently that’s bad. That’s not to say all of your concerns are invalid, but having to wake up on a stressful day to 15 comments expressing discontent at a rule in a tiny little contest is testing my patience. Anyway, this is the last time I’m talking about this rule. From now on, everyone who has a country right now will have to give it up after three editions and you’ll be able to poach each others countries at the beginning of the new contest period. So if you’re fast enough, you can keep your country, but if not, too bad for you. There, now we can be like the Hunger Games of the ESC-contest world and have another bitch-fest in a month or so when we try and get countries again. Basically, this is the final rule change for this edition. If you disagree, you are welcome to leave. 

197 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 4: Confirmation Day

  1. Since I don’t have many options left,I am back with Israel (again)😁
    If I had been around earlier,I would have picked the UK 😊
    Anyways,
    Here I am… with my eyes on the price 😊

    Liked by 3 people

      • Hello there🙂
        I can’t say I know Itallian music well enough and I don’t have much time to explore to be honest😁
        I could have chosen The Netherlands though( just noticed it hasn’t been taken yet)
        Israel brought me luck last time,so I am sticking to it 😁

        Like

      • I searched Italy because I was thinking to pick them for the next edition but I couldn’t find anything I like…it was underwhelming.

        Like

  2. Hey guys, I’m thinking of running a smallish national final to select the UK entry (no more than 5 songs). Let me know if you’d be interested in listening to the songs and voting!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

