Fête de la Chanson 13: Confirmation

Howdy! This is the official country reservation page for the thirteenth edition of Fête de la Chanson. Country reservation began at 19:00 CET on 16 May and will continue until 23:59 CET on 25 May. You can reserve your country through email and email only. The contest email is fetedelachanson@gmx.com. Only submissions sent to the contest email address will be recognized. When sending your country selections, please include your top 3 choices, ranked from your first choice to your third choice. This way, should multiple people desire to reserve the same country, the later submitter will get his or her most preferable alternative.

Below is a list of confirmed countries, which will be updated at least once a day during the time of the submission period:

Taken Countries:

  1. NO Norway: Dino
  2. MX Mexico: Patrick
  3. JP Japan: Nick
  4. NL Netherlands: Stommie
  5. DK Denmark: Anders
  6. GB United Kingdom: Rob
  7. AU Australia: Razvan
  8. PT Portugal: Tecku
  9. palestine Palestine: Hjallis
  10. SE Sweden: Tehoe
  11. GR Greece: Dimitris (2nd Choice)
  12. US United States: Ellie (3rd Choice)
  13. _unknown Gregor (All Options Taken)
  14. ID Indonesia: Bay
  15. CA Canada: Andy
  16. gambia Gambia: Donnie
  17. ES Spain: Shevek
  18. FI Finland: Alex L.
  19. BY Belarus: Arpatilaos
  20. AM Armenia: Avat
  21. RS Serbia: David
  22. IT Italy: Emmo
  23. FR France: Ovidarch
  24. South Korea South Korea: Jon
  25. EE Estonia: Sedapsi

80 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 13: Confirmation

  1. Hopefully nobody cares about Armenia. Maybe nobody knows that Armenians like mourning, goodbies and to sing about it!

    One of the songs I had in my mind: Andre (Armenia 2006) and Varduhi Vardanyan. Varduhi Vardanyan was known and very beloved singer with outstanding voice! She died because of a car accident. Her last song was a duo with Andre /love drama/. Andre shut the video after her death! Varduhi’s sister replaced her in that video. Lyrics were extremly touching since they corresponded to what happaned!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got my first and only choice! I love the song I am sending your way and so how you enjoy this song about a men’s journey towards the end, towards a new beginning; is the end a new beginning? Who knows?

    P.S. – I wonder what Tecku has chosen in Portugal…

    Liked by 2 people

      • You shall be more than welcome🙂

        The national final consists of music that is not so well known outside Denmark, so I don’t know if you have heard about the artists.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think I have heard of Kashmir, but not of the others – I shall look forward to listening to them.

        By the way. I loved ‘The Keeper of Lost Causes’ (Kvinden i buret). In the UK they have not yet released the two sequels ‘The Absent One’ (Fasandræberne) or ‘A Conspiracy of Faith’ (Flaskepost fra P). Have you seen either of those two?

        Like

      • “By the way. I loved ‘The Keeper of Lost Causes’ (Kvinden i buret). In the UK they have not yet released the two sequels ‘The Absent One’ (Fasandræberne) or ‘A Conspiracy of Faith’ (Flaskepost fra P). Have you seen either of those two?”

        I have heard of them, but not seen them. I don’t go to the cinema too often (though I often jump into a film on television or on DVD). Actually, if I remember correctly, I have been to the cinema three times in total since 2002!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes. In 2006 I saw a documentary about a Danish rock band from the 70’s called Gasolin’. In 2008: a satirical animation film called Rejsen til Saturn (The journey to Saturn). In 2012 a German documentary about a dance troupe from Wuppertal.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Same with me – I get quite frustrated when it keeps topping the ‘best film’ polls. Whilst I can see why it would be admired greatly, I am not sure I would even place it in my top 100 films of all time!🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Really? I love that film too – I think it is brilliant. My other favourites from pre 60s Hollywood are: Strangers on a Train, A Place In the Sun, Witness For the Prosecution, Vertigo, Gone With the Wind, The Big Sleep and Rebel Without a Cause. Do you like any of them too?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it’s definitely in my top 100 films of all time!
        From the ones you’ve mentioned I’ve seen Strangers on a Train, Witness For the Prosecution, Vertigo and Rebel Without a Cause and I liked all of them quite a lot except Rebel Without a Cause which I found a bit annoying cause of the main character. My favourite of those is Witness For the Prosecution.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean about Rebel Without a Cause – I have seen it a few times now and I remember the first time I saw it I thought it was over-rated. Witness For the Prosecution is great though! I saw it for the first time recently and was surprised at how good it is. Do you tend to prefer classic films? Any contemporary favourites?

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, I prefer the contemporary films, but I do try to watch some oldies too when I have time.
        Among my favourite movies of all time are: The Shawshank Redemption, The Dark Knight, Catch Me If You Can and a very recent one Mad Max: Fury Road (my favourite from last year).

        Liked by 1 person

      • I love all of Christopher Nolan’s Batman films – they were just perfect and exactly as Batman should be🙂 Mad Max: Fury Road was one of my favourites from last year too – I thought it was a great update of the original and I am really looking forward to the sequel. Tom Hardy is fast becoming one of my favourite actors too. I have not seen him in a bad film yet!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cool! I love almost all of Nolan’s films.
        I agree about Tom Hardy, he’s an amazing actor, I even thought he should’ve won an Oscar for The Revenant. There is though a film of his that is not that good imo, Legend, but he was still good in it.😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree – Nolan is a true Master of the Cinema! I got free cinema tickets to see Warrior and I was not really expecting to like it that must, but I thought it was great. Legend was just OK – I think they spent too much time on the gimmick of having Tom in two roles that they did not pay much attention to the story. The 1990 film ‘The Krays’ told the story much better, in my opinion. Have you seen that?

        You said you liked almost all of Nolan’s films – which were you not so keen on?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, interesting, I’ll be searching for The Krays then, first time I hear of it.🙂
        My least favourite Nolan films are Insomnia and Following but I still like those ones too. It’s quite impressive what he managed to do with Following with a budget of 6000 $!!
        Can’t wait for Dunkirk now, but this one is more than one year away.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Krays stars the Kemp brothers from the band Spandau Ballet. I think Legend assumes people know a lot about the Krays already, whereas the film ‘The Krays’ probes into their background more.

        I still have not seen ‘The Following’. With ‘Insomnia’, I liked it, but there is not much of Nolan in it, especially with it being a remake of a Norwegian film. I was really excited when I saw that Nolan would be doing ‘Dunkirk’. It will be so interesting to see what he does with the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, you should definitely check out Following then, it’s not at the level of his more known films, but for such a low budget movie it’s still impressive.
        Yes it will be very interesting to see what he does with Dunkirk, a very different story than the ones he has done so far.
        And thanks a lot for the offer! Do you collect DVDs ?🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I have a huge collection of DVDs! There are quite a few online places in the UK that sell them cheaply and there are now several second-hand stores that sell excellent quality DVDs at VERY low prices. Being a film fan, I like all of the extras and commentaries, so tend not to watch them online/stream them. Plus I like to be able to lend them to friends🙂

        In Romania do many films get a release on DVD with subtitles/dubbing? Or do you have to watch them in another language?

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome!
        Yes we get many DVD releases with subtitles, but dubbing only for the animation movies. I hate dubbing honestly, I want to listen the real actors talk, so I always watch the movies in the original version, most of the times with English subtitles cause the Romanian ones are not always accurate.
        I watch lots of movies and I can’t afford to buy so many so I usually download them (we have a Romanian site where you can find almost every movie and tv show), but I also go to the cinema quite often, around 40 times per year I would say.😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aside from animations it is virtually impossible to find dubbed versions of films in the UK. I, too, much prefer the original language. We might have cheap DVDs, but we have very expensive cinemas! I tend to only go now when there are offers on. I would love to go every week, but I think I have only been to the cinema about 5 times so far this year. I wish I could say I have been 40 times🙂 but I now usually wait for the DVD to come down in price and watch it that way. Are DVDs expensive in Romania? Normally after they have been released for a few months they will be less than £5 in the UK stores. However, if you wait a year or so then they are normally in the second-hand stores (often brand new) and are 3 for £5.

        Being a collector, I have several friends who feed my addiction by giving me DVDs they no longer want🙂 So over the years I have amassed a huge collection. Unfortunately I do not have that many Romanian films.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well the ticket price at the cinema in my city is around 3 euros (for every movie, bee it 2D or 3D), so it’s quite cheap. The price for a DVD is at least 3 euros, it can even go as high as 8-10 euros I’ve seen, so of course I prefer to go and enjoy the cinematic experience.🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would go twice a week if it was 3 euros here🙂 Depending on which cinema and when you go, it can be £9/10 here. Although many cinemas are now offering a type of membership where you pay a monthly fee and can go an unlimited number of times.

        Whereabouts in Romania do you live? And have you ever been to the UK?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I see, yeah it’s much more expensive there.😛
        I live in Buzau at 100km from the capital Bucharest. I’ve never been to UK, never had the chance to leave the country actually, unfortunately.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Buzau looks very nice. Well, with your perfect English, if ever you were willing and able to come to the UK you would easily get a job! I cannot guarantee such beautiful countryside as you have near Buzau and certainly cannot promise cheap cinema tickets🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! We have some nice parks here and yeah the countryside is really nice.
        I have not thought that much about going to work in a foreign country, but who knows what the future holds ?😛
        Nice that you have a Romanian friend.🙂 And yep Vaslui is not too near me.😛

        Like

  3. Hi everyone! I’ve been really busy finishing off essay after essay for university over the past few days, so didn’t have time to realise that FDLC13 is officially kicking off. Originally I had three unique songs to choose from that fitted “The End” theme perfectly, but I just saw that all of my three favourite countries have already been taken (Portugal, United Kingdom and Australia). Hopefully I’ll be able to select another country soon and maybe do an internal selection this time around, depending on the amount of songs available to me from that country. Hint: staying at home… 😛

    Liked by 5 people

  4. About my song:
    It is being sang for babies! It is based on lyrics written by a big name in the Armenian literature who according to a literature source wrote them inspired by the singing of a women who was mourning the death of her son near his body! It is a soundtrack! Lyrics are very simple and contain the names of different types of birds!

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Sooooo. Serbian song has been applied for the contest!!!!
    A song is a symbol of starting to realize the cruel world around you (and of course the end of blindly living in the shadow of reality). It has deep poet quality, and it has been voted as the song of decade (in the decade it has been recorded – it is not a new song btw). I will post full lyrics after song presentation. It is something totally different than everything you’ve heard from me🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Hey everybody. Give me about another day to get the songs page up. I’m just very tired from work right now, and it’s kept me from doing it.
    I have received the entries from Norway, Palestine, Netherlands, UK, Australia, Serbia, and Canada. In addition, I have received the link to the Danish nf.

    I do apologize for any inconvenience.

    Liked by 7 people

  7. Already found four songs that I want to see represent the Fifth Republic in Nashville, but unsure which one to choose!:/ I believe that I might set up a grand NF this evening for you all to vote in and decide, but I do have an inkling about one particular song. I’ll aim to set it up soon and hopefully publish it on here later tonight!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A song I didn’t dare to enter with in a “contest” even if it suits to the theme chosen.
    Elvina Makaryan with “I’m menutyun” (My loneliness)!
    Elvina was very famous jazz-pop singer in Soviet era. She was one of winners of a nomination of World music awards . Later she was included into the list of banned singers who make propaganda of capitalistic culture and was ignored by media’s! Later she migrates to USA where a tragedy happens with her son who dies! After long period of silence She released a song commemorating her son and her friends start to think that she overcame the depressive period but they were wrong! That song was her goodbye letter and her body was found in her apartment (suicide) before the the video was released😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

