Fête de la Chanson 14: Confirmation

Tele! This is the official country reservation page for the fourteenth edition of Fête de la Chanson. Country reservation began at 19:00 CET on 26 August and will continue until 23:59 CET on 4 September. You can reserve your country through email and email only. The contest email is fetedelachanson@gmx.com. Only submissions sent to the contest email address will be recognized. When sending your country selections, please include your top 3 choices (you may send more), ranked from your first choice to your third choice. This way, should multiple people desire to reserve the same country, the later submitter will get his or her most preferable alternative.

Below is a list of confirmed countries, which will be updated at least once a day during the time of the submission period:

Taken Countries:

  1. EE Estonia: Sedapsi
  2. US United States: Patrick
  3. GB United Kingdom: Nick
  4. DE Germany: Stommie
  5. RO Romania: Razvan
  6. SE Sweden: Rob
  7. HR Croatia: Max
  8. ES Spain: Ren
  9. DK Denmark: Anders
  10. Ukraine Ukraine: Dimitris
  11. NO Norway: Dhaibhidh
  12. IT Italy: Alex L.(2nd Choice)
  13. timor-leste East Timor: Shevek
  14. FR France: Donnie (2nd Choice)
  15. chile Chile: Franco
  16. NL The Netherlands: Ovidarch
  17. GR Greece: Ellie
  18. CA Canada: Dino
  19. CY Cyprus: Arpatilaos
  20. IE Ireland: Martin
  21. india India: Warren
  22. PT Portugal: Andy (3rd Choice)
  23. MX Mexico: Hjallis (2nd Choice)
  24. AR Argentina: Matt D.
  25. JP Japan: Tecku (2nd Choice)
  26. NZ New Zealand: Lars (2nd Choice)
  27. RU Russia: Mermaid
  28. cuba Cuba: Tehoe
  29. ID Indonesia: Bay
  30. swaziland Swaziland: Toggie
  31. CO Colombia: Daniel M.
  32. seychelles Seychelles: Tristian

Waiting List:

  1. AM Armenia: Avat
  2. AU Australia: Robin (2nd Choice)
  3. IS Iceland: Sebastian (2nd Choice)
  4. lebanon Lebanon: Emmo
  5. South Korea South Korea: Mylor

National Finals:

300 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 14: Confirmation

  1. The voting in the Canadian NF is well under way. So far 7 people have vote including me.

    70
    64
    54
    48
    30
    28

    All songs appeared in top3 at least once, but only half received 12pts.

    Like

    • Also, when I went to build the page, I noticed I had a comment in moderation and checked my spam email, and I don’t know why Max went straight to the spam folder.

      Hmm… Does WordPress hate you, Max?

      Like

  2. And Tristan with the Seychelles! Good luck, everyone!

    P.S. – I’ve been listening to all the nfs during the morning while cooking bacalhau à brás and am ready to vote.

    Liked by 2 people

      • LOL, It’s almost done. I totally dislike these plastic chefs we see on TV nowadays, btw. My cooking is too down to earth, I’m afraid.🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just love these posts as you are always cooking, going to cook or going or coming from dinner or lunch! I love good food, one of my favorite hobbies too, unfortunately nowadays more eating out than mastering the kitchen.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Indeed!Shevek’s cooking posts are so soothing and cozy.Just like preparing a snack to accompany your hot coffee during a cold afternoon.That’s one of my many deifinitions of coziness.lol

        Liked by 2 people

      • lol.Of course i know about cold afternoons.Maybe not Nordic cold but still quite cold.I also have this sense that my childhood winters were colder.I don’t know if it’s just my impression or if the planet is indeed much warmer nowdays. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have same impression. We seldom get proper winters in southern coast side. It’s been almost ten years when sea froze properly and you could skate or ski there. And summers are warm and damp. Yeah, I’m afraid it has changed. Only good thing is my garden just keeps getting lusher and lusher.
        I know you know cold days. It’s different and can be even worse. After all we are properly prepared for cold. I love winter. Colder and snowier the better 😃

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Guys this is my 10th edition (counting both FdlC and ETSC) so I wanted to celebrate it by representing my home country and organizing a NF!😀
    Everyone is welcomed to check it out if you have time! I hope you enjoy it!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m going to present you a proper Fiesta de México.
    There will be

    1) Great artist very dear to me. He has done very well on Billboard Regional Mexico chart for years now. That’s also a clue what to expect music wise.

    2) Great architect very dear to me. Three highlights from his body of work will be shown during festivities.

    3) Great sportsman very dear to me. A proper Hjallis boy: compact, strong and manly beautiful.

    You are most welcomed to celebrate Mexico and it’s culture this season with me!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Europe : 18 countries
    Americas : 7 countries (Welcome Cuba)
    Asia : 4 countries (Welcome India and Timor Leste)
    Africa : 2 countries (Welcome Swaziland and Seychelles)
    Oceania : 1 country

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good to know. Would you like to vote to the Canadian NF as well🙂 The last three songs atm are waiting your top marks :p

      Like

  6. Ok folks, I have a bit of a dilemma. I have 4 good songs from the same artist with 2 potential front-runners vying for Norway’s official Entry. Trouble is, I am stuck which one to submit. Both front-runners are equally good but entirely different.
    One has an instant, upbeat catch which draws you in immediately. The other is longer, slower, and mesmerising.
    I’ve not done FdlC before so I’m not familiar with what appeals here……..any suggestions or advice? Thanks,🙂

    Like

    • If you hope for some Swazi votes, I’ll go for “longer, slower, and mesmerising” but if you want to add to diversity, I advise to send “instant, upbeat catch which draws you in immediately”.🙂

      Good luck!

      P.S.: We did not have many choices here in Swaziland.

      Liked by 1 person

    • If you like them equally then it’s indeed a problem.I’d go with the one i feel it’s closer to me atm.Trying to guess which one will appeal more to people isn’t among the criteria i usually use because people can surprise you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I’m afraid it is a problem now Dimitris. I thought I had a clear choice but that slow one, after a few listenings has been worming its way into my head. I’m not even gonna try second guess what folk may like……whichever one I go for, some will like, while others wont like. I’m humming both atm so even that doesn’t help, lol🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Indeed. Who would have thought that I’d give 12 pts to the shake shake from South Africa a couple of editions ago.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks a lot!
        Luckily the Swazi delegation will have a lot of water when visiting the Greek islands in September. But not waves like this one of course.

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’ve no idea what that means but it sounds like you came out of your comfort zone😉

        Like

      • lol!That was a reply to dear Swaziland’s comment.Swaziland is almost landlocked so we’re sending them some water. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • You can’t always tell what people will be voting for. I, for instance, have been voting for both types of songs as they can be either good or bad. But if you want to swim against the stream (which is only followed by the dead fish), you should choose the first option.

      But most importantly: choose the one you feel for the most.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Anders. Yeah I realise that, people will go for what appeals at the time and in the moment. We can all be fickle when it comes to music, sometimes a song we instantly love becomes a bore after a short while while others have no instant appeal, but gains appreciation the more it’s heard.
        I think I’ll leave them a couple of days……see which one sticks in my head the most. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • If they’re both equally good that’s a problem. It’s tricky to figure out which one will do better, it depends on many things so what I would do is listen them until I can decide which one I enjoy just a bit more and send that one.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good advice Razvan……. the trouble has been the catchy one has maybe broader appeal instantly and more mainstream, ………whereas the 2nd one is a grower (as the say), one that is best listened to on your own with headphones or curled up by a fire on a cold Winter evening. I’ll let them simmer for a couple of days though🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Ok, the deed is done……I had to put myself out of misery quickly. Norway’s official song has now been sent and awaits confirmation.

      In the end I chose the one I felt had more longevity. I hope everyone hears it’s qualities as I did,………enjoy!

      Good luck everyone!
      Deagh fhortan h-uile duine!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. @ Dhaibhidh (David)

    Thanks a lot. But no need to worry. I am very well known as heat, language ‘n’ irrelevant knowledge guy round here.😉🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Hi Dino, thanks for the welcome. No, sorry……I wont have time to listen to any of the NF’s this week. I’ll have to wait and listen to all the official presentations when they are presented and when I get a chance. 🙂

        Like

    • Great, good luck Martin.

      Wow, what a special place……….Ashford Castle looks stunning! I was in Eire a couple of weeks ago, near Blackrock, near the N. Irish border. Lovely little seaside town🙂

      Gur math a thèid leat! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Dhaibhidh.
        I do like Ashford Castle, have stayed here a couple of times (it is also a very popular hotel) and find it a great place to relax and get away for a few days. Ideal for my first foray into FDLC.
        I’m glad you had a lovely time in Blackrock, I’ve not been there yet, but may have to make a wee trip there sometime, sounds lovely.
        Cheers🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

