Fête de la Chanson 15: The Countries

Hallo! Country reservation for the blind edition has now closed, and we’re ready to reveal the countries participating in the fifteenth edition of Fête de la Chanson. Below, you will find a list of countries, in alphabetical order, that are participating in the edition.

Taken Countries:

  1. AU Australia
  2. AT Austria
  3. BE Belgium
  4. BG Bulgaria
  5. Brazil Brazil
  6. CA Canada
  7. CN China
  8. DK Denmark
  9. FI Finland
  10. FR France
  11. DE Germany
  12. GR Greece
  13. guinea Guinea
  14. IS Iceland
  15. india India
  16. ID Indonesia
  17. Iran Iran
  18. IE Ireland
  19. IL Israel
  20. IT Italy
  21. JP Japan
  22. lebanon Lebanon
  23. MT Malta
  24. NL The Netherlands
  25. NZ New Zealand
  26. NO Norway
  27. PT Portugal
  28. RU Russia
  29. RS Serbia
  30. ES Spain
  31. SE Sweden
  32. GB United Kingdom
  33. US United States

102 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 15: The Countries

      • You’re right, but those were the days where people were still learning which songs yielded the best results. Now, that ‘naiveté’ is gone – lool at how ‘well’ Swaziland did in FdlC 14 (personally, I was very surprised to see it out of the top 10) – no, results are paramount to most people, which is perfectly legitimate, btw.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good!🙂

        P.S. – Gambia was the exotic flavour that usually does well in every edition, if I may say so.

        Like

      • I don’t know what you exactly have in mind by “exotic that usually does well in every edition”, cause most African songs with local instrumentation and in native language should sound exotic to most people.

        Liked by 1 person

      • They do not sound exotic to me, for instance. What I mean is that the current top 10s feature Anglo-Saxon sounding stuff and then people usually go for one or two exceptions to the rule, which is perfectly legitimate, btw.

        Like

      • It’s all about analogy. If 20 out of 30 songs in every edition are Anglo-Saxon, that automatically means 6-7 of them will feature in top 10. However, FdlC results have shown so far that local songs can enter top 10 or even win. There are many examples you even won with a song from Brazil.
        PS : If by exotic you don’t necessarily mean local language and instrumentation, then what else is there to send if you don’t want a contest full of predictable Anglo-Saxon and mainstream stuff?

        Like

      • I know, Donnie. Africa and Brazil do not feel exotic to me, because I was raised with African and Brazilian relatives. Anglo-Saxon stuff feels more exotic to me. Anglo-Saxon standards are the rule to most people I know. I am just stating a fact, I am not saying that the music is worse or better, it’s just different and it brings better results. I have to go now – coffee awaits.🙂

        Like

      • I’ve already commented on that. Am looking forward to listening to your future choices.🙂

        Like

  1. So the first part of the cat is out of the bag!🙂 These choices are in line with what the ones made in previous editions. Welcome, Bulgaria!🙂 Good luck, everyone!

    P.S. – tuna fish, eggs, mushrooms, spinach, garlic and so on await me.🙂 Will be serving Quinta da Lapa Selection this coming lunch:
    http://www.quintadalapa-wines.com/home.htm
    Quinta da Lapa has top notch wines that are quite inexpensive.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. So now we know the finalists for FDLC 15. 12 countries out,…….to be replaced with 13 countries in.

    Welcome to Austria, Brazil, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Finland, Guinea, Iceland, Iran, Israel, Lebanon, Malta, Serbia. I’m looking forward to being enriched and introduced to the best of each country’s music. Good Luck to everyone! 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  3. As former Head of Delegation for Norway and current champion, it is my duty to promote the host country of FDLC 15 from Operahuset, Oslo, Norway!

    I will endeavour to offer as many insights as possible into the language, people, heritage and culture of this northern State. Please feel free to add your thoughts and observations, fun or serious!

    Let’s start with a small musical interlude……..from Terje Isungset & Lena Nymark playing their composition, “A Glimpse of Light” live from inside an ice cave under the Nigard Glacier(Jostedalen). Enjoy…….with an open mind! 🙂

    “Lena Nymark: voice, Terje Isungset, ice instruments, Bernard Svidal: ice carver, Tor Magne Hallibakken: sound engineer”

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sounds great. You are making great choices! I’m not too much into this kind of projects because, maybe, they are accelerating the melting process but in a small proportion so I can enjoy it at the same time.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Not sure if they’ve accelerated the melting, but I’m sure those instruments must have been calibrated for different sound notes. I love how Man can create music from virtually anything, Love that whole creative process🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t know what happened there,seemed to go down as I couldn’t get in….
    Oh well, looks like all’s sorted.
    For those watching The Fall on BBC…episode 2 (season three) is a corker! RTE are showing it earlier on Sundays here🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • It is! The first two series were dark but intriguing and this one has just started, last week’s opener was drawn out but this week started to get very interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I need to find time to watch…….I like dark and intriguing. Ever see London Spy when it was aired? “A romance between an MI6 code genius and an ordinary man promises happiness. But tragedy strikes ………..”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I watched it. I loved the premise and had hoped it would have been better as it did drag on a bit and at times went from the sublime to the ridiculous but overall it was enjoyable enough and not bad at all. I love a bit of Charlotte Rampling (she was great in Broadchurch 2 as well) and Ben Whishaw was excellent. Also love Jim Broadbent. I don’t think there is to be another series though….

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, they could have condensed it into 3 or 4 episodes instead of 5, but equally if they wanted to keep 5 episodes, I’d have expected them to expand the characters a bit more, given them more depth (especially some of the sub characters). As you say, had some promising moments of suspense…..but I think they missed the target a bit. But, kudos to Rampling, Broadbent and Whishaw……without their talent, this series would have flopped.

        Like

      • Great album indeed!I have bought all her French albums,”D’eux” onwards.Her French discography is much better than her English one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes,i do.I like many songs like the one i posted here and “Etoile”,Les yeux au ciel”,”Encore un soir” etc.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree, I think her French compositions are far better than the ones she makes for the English speaking market (with a couple of exceptions)

    Like

  6. Well im very interested in what everybody thinks about my entry, cause its not something I have sent before, so love that it is a blind edition now hihi ^^

    Liked by 2 people

    • Love that we can hide behind the blind edition……looking forward to hearing what you bring, even though I wont know you brought it, lol.

      Like

      • I think so too Donnie……are you finding it difficult not being able to promote your country or song? I know I’m finding it difficult not saying a word, no words, no pictures, no clues nor hints, lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Very wise!🙂 I guess we’ll all have to post puzzles and fun stuff to keep the forum occupied during the next 3 weeks.

        Like

      • We can still post all kinds of different stuff. Next few days it will be all about songs anyway, then all kinds of different stuff again, the prediction game plus who is which country and finally THE RESULTS!!! And of course some after-contest gossip and stats as always! :p

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think the “guess which country we represent” game is gonna throw up a few howlers, especially if we also have to give reasons for our guesses.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha someones excited I see😉 Well I really like the approach this time from the hosts, maybe a blind edition is the way to go😛

        Liked by 3 people

  7. Okay. It took me a while to decide how I would be revealing the songs, but I have come to a decision. To ease the burden on me (posting 33 songs in one day would be very time consuming), I will be posting the songs in batches of 6-5-6-5-6-5, once a day, through the 8th of October, with the songs being revealed on the 3rd being released in an hour or two. While there will be a method to the song selection, all you need to know is that it will NOT be in the order I received them.

    Liked by 5 people

Leave a Reply

