Fête de la Chanson 15: The Songs

Hallo! The song submission period of the fifteenth edition of Fête de la Chanson has opened. Delegations have through 23:59 CET on 7 October 2016 to submit their songs. When sending your song, please remember to send the time of the 25 seconds you want used during your snippet of the recap video.

In keeping with the theme of a blind edition, songs will be revealed daily, in groups of five or six songs until the final five songs are revealed on the 8th of October. These songs will not necessarily be revealed in the order in which they are submitted. However, if any member of any delegation has a concern about their entry, due to it not being posted, please feel free to contact me at the contest email.

Accepted (and Revealed) Songs:

RS Serbia (?????): “Donesi” – Lexington

JP Japan (?????): “Katachi” – Shugo Tokumaru

guinea Guinea (?????): “Faya” – Joe Driscoll & Sekou Kouyate

DK Denmark (?????): “TRUE LOVE” – Eivør

FR France (?????): “Una Musica Brutal” – Gotan Project

AT Austria (?????): “Gravity” – Hunger

BE Belgium (?????): “Mercury” – SX

ID Indonesia (?????): “Kali Kedua” – Raisa

india India (?????): “Oh Love” – Prateek Kuhad

MT Malta (?????): “A Long Wave Goodbye” – Stalko

GR Greece (?????): “Didi’s Show” – Dirty Granny Tales

NL The Netherlands (?????): “Faster” – Within Temptation

CN China (?????): “An Ordinary Road (平凡之路)” – Pu Shu

Brazil Brazil (?????): “Te Vivo” – Luan Santana

IT Italy (?????): “Solo Andata” – Canzoniere Grecanico Salentino

GB United Kingdom (?????): “I Gave It All” – Aquilo

FI Finland (?????): “822” – Noah Kin

IE Ireland (?????): “One Hundred Thousand Veils” – Luke Slott

SE Sweden (?????): “For Now” – Thomas Feiner & Anywhen

RU Russia (?????): “Doctor” – Therr Maitz

PT Portugal (?????): “Trago Fado Nos Sentidos” – Cristina Branco

DE Germany (?????): “Nonne” – Aeternitas

US United States (?????): “Depth of My Soul” – Thievery Corporation ft. Shana Halligan

BG Bulgaria (?????): “Molasses” – Kan Wakan ft. Elle Olsun

CA Canada (?????): “Lose It” – Austra

IS Iceland (?????): “Old Skin” – Ólafur Arnalds ft. Arnór Dan

NO Norway (?????): “Utenat” – Siri Nilsen

IR Iran (?????): “My King My Moon” – Tara Tiba

IL Israel (?????): “Before the Rain” – Eviatar Banai

NZ New Zealand (?????): “Written in the Water – Die Regardless” – Gin Wigmore

ES Spain (?????): “Breaking Away (Radio Mix)” – Offer Nissim ft. Maya & Vanessa Klein

lebanon Lebanon (?????): “Underground” – Nadine Khouri

AU Australia (?????): “The Love Me or Die” – CW Stoneking

986 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 15: The Songs

  1. I have now listened to all entries twice. I’m even more puzzled.

    Btw, just came back from a concert. I want these guys in ESC for Greece. Actually I may be entering with them in the next (or so) FdlC edition.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. On a quick listening again, there are 16 songs I can see myself voting too. That means 4 songs less compared to FdlC 14…

    Like

  3. I think I can say I enjoy the songs in this edition at lot! Especially because the great ones are in very different genres.
    There are quite a few of them in my FdlC pantheon already🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Okay, since I keep seeing this come up, I want to make this very clear. When I started this blind edition, I did not even consider making concealing the HoDs a permanent part of the competition. It wasn’t even up for consideration.

    After trying to run a blind edition, there is no way in hell I would consider making this a permanent addition to the contest. I would sooner shutter the contest.

    Like

  5. The new Iranian song has been added to my rankings. I am off to Berlin now, and I decided not to take a mobile device along. See you all next week.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Iran keeps the same artist but changed the song,I think the participant changed his mind and didnt want to go with a song heard before….

    Now I am listening to the newcomers…I was out all night 😊This edition rocks imo!

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Idea:
    Since “Guess the HoD” will be the most interesting part of this edition (apart from the songs of course), I suggest that the one who guesses correctly the most HoDs behind the entries should be awarded with some kind of prize. Being able to choose with no competition a country for the next edition f.i.🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  8. Well, I managed to listen to the last 3 groups last night and all of them again this morning, twice………and well done folks, you managed to make my top ten so cloudy again. So far I’ve changed my top 5, three times already……..and my top 15 have all been both in, and out of my top ten. So, well done!

    Good job everyone,……..such a diverse range of music genres, this is going to make voting very, very interesting.

    Imo, I have no stand out, clear cut winner yet, ……..so I think we’ll have a very open contest in this edition, meaning the top points will be all over the board again and anyone could win this edition.

    What do you think? A close race? A clear outright winner? 12 points to just about everyone?

    Disoriented! 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  9. NORWAY hosts – Part 3:
    Art

    Perhaps Norway’s most famous globally known artist is the Expressionist, Edvard Munch (1863 – 1944). His portrait, “The Scream” has been both lauded and parodied in media in equal measures.

    “The work shows a figure with an agonized expression against a landscape with a tumultuous orange sky. Arthur Lubow has described The Scream as “an icon of modern art, a Mona Lisa for our time.”
    Edvard Munch created four versions of the Scream in various media. The National Gallery, Oslo, holds one of two painted versions. The Munch Museum holds the other painted version and a pastel version from 1893. These three versions have not traveled for years.
    The fourth version (pastel, 1895) was sold for $119,922,600 at Sotheby’s Impressionist and Modern Art auction on 2 May 2012 to financier Leon Black, the fourth highest nominal price paid for a painting at auction.”

    “I was walking along a path with two friends – the sun was setting – suddenly the sky turned blood red – I paused, feeling exhausted, and leaned on the fence – there was blood and tongues of fire above the blue-black fjord and the city – my friends walked on, and I stood there trembling with anxiety – and I sensed an infinite scream passing through nature.
    – Edvard Munch, 1893”

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

