Fête de la Chanson 17: The Songs

Konnichiwa! The song submission period for the seventeenth edition of Fête de la Chanson has opened. The delegations have through the end of 11 December to submit their songs.

Here is a list of national finals for this edition:

The following list will be updated as songs are received and confirmed:

samoa Samoa (Bay): “Kingdom Come” – Common Kings

US United States (Avat): “I Know These Hills” – Kevin Costner & Modern West ft. Sara Beck

gambia Gambia (Anders): “Tama Silo” – Dawda Jobarteh

sri20lanka Sri Lanka (Oxi): “Thicker Than Blood” – Stigmata

cameroon Cameroon (Dhaibhidh): “Aké” – Blick Bassy

JP Japan (Patrick): “Please Don’t Stop My Step (僕らの世界にダンスを)” – Prof.Sakamoto (サカモト教授)

cape20verde Cape Verde (Dino): “As-Agua” – Lura

MY Malaysia (Rob): “Hey There, Young Sailor” – The Impatient Sisters

MZ Mozambique (Shevek): “Sonho” – Deltino Guerreiro

TN Tunisia (Mermaid): “Meen Gallek (مين قلك)” – Aziz Maraka (عزيز مرقة)

NZ New Zealand (Martin): “Mother & Father” – Broods

mauritius Mauritius (Tristian): “Inna Dancehall Time” – Laura Beg

ethiopia Ethiopia (Arpatilaos): “Biyo” – Saba Anglana


Awaiting Acceptance/Info:

  • cuba Cuba (Toggie)

Need to Submit:

  • AU Australia (Nick)
  • taiwan Taiwan (Andy)
  • Brazil Brazil (Warren)
  • st20vincent2020the20grenadines St. Vincent & the Grenadines (Alex L.)
  • egypt Egypt (Donnie)
  • kenya Kenya (Xello)
  • Uzbekistan Uzbekistan (Ovidarch)
  • CL Chile (Dimitris)
  • western20sahara Western Sahara (Lars)
  • lebanon Lebanon (Tecku)
  • ZA South Africa (Ellie)
  • united20arab20emirates United Arab Emirates (Tehoe)
  • AR Argentina (Emmo)
  • bahrain Bahrain (Hjallis)

318 thoughts on “Fête de la Chanson 17: The Songs

  1. After 7 voters in the Canadian NF all 5 songs have received at least one set of 12 pts (actually this happened after the first 5 voters who all had a different favourite, haha😛 ).
    Only one song has not been placed last yet.🙂
    Here’s how the scoreboard looks so far:
    1. 62
    1. 62
    3. 58
    4. 56
    5. 42

    It’s a very tight race so far! Keep voting!🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  2. I hope by the 11th of December there will still be at least one open slot and I will have back my fixed-line internet connection (I am without wi fi at home 5 days already but the phone company says they may need another week to fix the problem in my neighborhood). I have three countries lined up already but searching on the mobile is a bitch – and because of the twist I need to be equality comfortable with all five songs from the countries I might claim.

    By the way great national finals there for Canada and Puerto Rico. Good job Franco and Razvan🙂

    Liked by 7 people

  3. Listening to Fiesta Boricua … shakeshake
    A Song for Canada will follow later tonight when my favourite satirical show is over.🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. New Zealand calling…..
    As our delegation waits in anticipation for the decision regarding our song (stated earlier how another by the same artist is on stand-by and we’re happy enough to swap)
    May we present our voting spokesperson:

    The multi-talented Pamela Stephenson

    Liked by 6 people

  5. Thanks for partying in Fiesta Boricua. It has been a lot of fun😀

    Today I heard this in a shopping center: (familiar sound) Why? Why can’t this moment last forevermore… After those 5 seconds it was changed… First time I listened to Euphoria here, besides a TV show. A good or bad sign for Loreen?😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • They play ESC songs in my local supermarket all the time which is quite surprising because it is one of those enormous chain things. Can you imagine that they played NOR06 the other day?

      Liked by 2 people

      • It’s at the end of the street I live in. When I was a boy the countryside began there, only 200 meters from my parent’s house. Lovely hills and fertile fields.🙂
        Since LuBu is among the fastest growing towns in Germany (we’ll soon reach 100.000 inhabitants which will qualify us as Großstadt …), many rural areas have been developped in the past 20 years.😦 Nowadays I need to walk for 10 minutes.😦 I moved into a flat in my parents’ house last year. A win-win situation. They can take care of my mails and plants when I am away and I can help them with heavy work. Before I had a house with 6 rooms, 3 bathrooms and 2 kitchens all for myself. That was totally ridiculous and way too much cleaning.😉

        Liked by 2 people

      • I’m a a little bit new in the ESC world thanks to TVE International (thanks Spain, one day you’ll send a good song and I’ll be proud of you… one day…). I liked the Norwegian song🙂
        If I don’t count those big hits from the good old days, and one or two covers, I’ve only heard Wild Dances here.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, after all Chile is pretty far away from ESC territory … but then, so is Australia, which does not stop them getting their knickers in a twist when it comes to ESC.🙂
        Norway is one of only 5 songs I can survive listening to from the 2006 line-up. The others are BiH, Russia, Germany and Andorra. Plus I have a soft spot for the Danish song. blush
        As for TVE … when did they last send a really good song? 1995? I have liked some of their efforts since but not enough to put them in my Spain playlist.😦

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I had a brief skype conference with some friends in order to decide on the Cuban entry … and after all had been said, done and counted, we had a tie. LOL
    Anyway, the song that will represent Cuba has just been sent FdlCBU.🙂

    Like

  7. I will try to go through the NFs at some point in time, but I am not sure if I will be able to cast my vote.

    P.S. – these were the five countries sent by me: Brazil, Chile, Egypt, Indonesia and Mozambique.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. OMG, I have just read that Katrina of Katrina and the Waves went to school in Ludwigsburg (Pattonville US Army Base). faints
    I’ve finally found out where I got the ESC bug … besides from my family.🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

